Getting motivated for the gym/goals

We all have it but sometimes we lose it or have a lack of it! Starting a new program or getting started on a healthy eating plan is easy but after a few months and or a rough week at work can derail us and leave us totally de motivated and further from our goal than where we started. So how do people get it back when life does get tough, stressful and it’s all too hard.

Image

 “people often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing that’s why we recommend it daily.” This is so true for everyone. I know personally when I have full determination and motivation on my side I feel like I can achieve anything and that I’m doing really well and my training and diet has a purpose.  So what happens when I lose it and become de motivated.

Personally I’m lucky with training as I could be dead and I would still workout. However food will always be an issue for me (being previously obese). It’s not bad food that’s the issue but portion sizes and bad habits creep back into my diet. I guess it’s more my mental state, I question the training I do, the direction I’m going and the results (or lack there of) that really gets me down and can really de motivate me.

Image

 

So for all of us this training thing can be hard and seem pointless. Your tired, stress, exhausted and no one else around you seems to support you or your cause so why bother. This happens to the best of us, but how do we get out of this or prevent it from going off the rails in the first place.

I believe there are a few things to start doing:

–          Stop feeling sorry for yourself or stop giving excuses.

 I have many times felt sorry for myself and blamed genetics (or my past weight issues) or frustrated at the lack of results and then let my diet get a little out of control. However once I admit and stop saying why me and know I have the power internally then I start changing.

 

–          Understand why you are doing this.

 It is not enough for someone to say to me as a trainer I want to get fit or I want to lose 10kg and so on. It’s more important to understand why you are doing this from a deeper emotional level and when you’re de motivated, know this isn’t helping that reason why you are training and to refocus.

 

–          Finding people that motivate you.

I personally have found inspiration from MANY different people such as Miyamoto Musashi, Sun Tzu, Michael Jordon, Muhammd Ali, Shawn Michaels, triple H and of course Arnie!! Many of these people have said or done things that are unbelieveable but also gone through hard ship and problems but even though they are great people who have achieved great things doesn’t mean you can’t as they are only people (flesh and bone) the same as you.

 

–          Have people who pump you up in your life

 Find people in your life who either have similar interests or are supporting to your cause and get motivation from what they say and how they support you and either disconnect from negative people or don’t bring up your fitness goals with people in your life who don’t understand or have their own self esteem issues.

There are so many ways to get your motivation back and is never too late! This is a journey and a lifestyle not a diet or a quick fix or short term goal and every journey has its ups and downs but as an old Chinese proverb says “Failure is not falling down, but refusing to get up!”

Image

 

I have also posted some great motivation clips after this post as well

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yX39J_YyKbs – I am a champion speech

http://youtu.be/kZlXWp6vFdE – Inspirational story (try not to cry too much)

 

 

 

Original motivating source http://www.muscleandfitnesshers.com/blogs/felicia-romero/get-your-mojo-back

About North Adelaide Fitness Centre

Join the alternative to big impersonal Gyms! North Adelaide Fitness Centre offer all you have ever wanted in a gym. Including the Best Equipment, the World's Best Fitness Classes and programs to suit you. The best Personal Trainers in a secure and highly personalised environment. Discover the health club for real people. Come in and see what makes our program different from other gyms.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting motivated for the gym/goals

  1. thanks for the nice blog. it was very useful for me. keep sharing such ideas in the future as well. this was actually what i was looking for, and i am glad to come here! lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

Leave a Reply

